Roblox group payout tax and split calculator
Enter the Robux sitting in group funds, list the members and their percentages, and see the whole Robux each one receives, what stays behind, and what the split is worth at the DevEx rate. No second fee is taken out, because a payout is not a sale.
Members
Is a Roblox group payout taxed?
No, and the clearest proof is Roblox's own arithmetic. The groups page in the creator documentation, last updated September 17, 2026 and read again on September 18, works through a group game whose revenue is split 40 / 30 / 10 among three members with a 20% remainder. Assuming the game earns 1,000 Robux, it says, the three members receive 400, 300 and 100. The remaining 200 passes on to the group-wide split of 20 / 20 / 10, which pays the same three members another 40, 40 and 20, and the last 100 is placed in the group's balance. Add the seven figures up and you get exactly 1,000: nothing is deducted anywhere along that chain.
The help centre says the same in different words: its article on community revenue and payouts, updated September 17, 2026, has owners transferring community Robux to members and names no fee. Roblox's published fee schedule sits in the Marketplace documentation and covers avatar items, while the monetization overview attaches the 30% to what you sell, saying creators generally earn 70% of anything they sell in Robux in their game. A payout is not a sale. It moves Robux the group already owns, and the 30% marketplace cut was taken earlier, on the way in.
One-time payouts and recurring splits
Roblox documents two ways out of group funds, both in the creator docs and in the help centre. A one-time payout is a batch: pick recipients and a set amount for each, or upload a spreadsheet with a member ID column and a whole-Robux amount. The docs list its safety features as two-step verification challenges, confirmation dialogues and eligibility checks on the members being paid. A recurring payout is a standing percentage split, set for one game or for the group as a whole.
The order matters, and it is the part revenue agreements get wrong. A per-game split runs first, taking each member's percentage of what that game earns. Only the remainder reaches the group-wide split, which takes its percentages of that smaller number, and whatever survives both lands in the balance. That is why a member on 20% of the group split does not receive 20% of what the game earned. This calculator models one round: run it on the game's earnings, then again on the leftover figure.
Splitting a pool into whole Robux
Robux are whole, and the one-time payout upload takes a whole-number amount per member, so a real payout never carries a fraction. A percentage of a pool usually does. Roblox publishes no rounding rule: its own example uses percentages that divide 1,000 without a remainder, and no page read on September 18, 2026 says what becomes of the fraction.
Rather than guess at a rule Roblox has not stated, this page states its own and shows the working. Every member first receives the whole-Robux floor of their exact share. The Robux those floors left behind are handed out one at a time to the members whose fractions were largest, a tie going to the higher row. That is the largest-remainder method: the shares always add up to the distributable total exactly, and every member lands on their floor or their floor plus one. Percentages are carried to two decimals and every step runs on integers, so no share is off by a rounding artefact.
Worked example: 1,000 Robux three ways
Take 1,000 Robux and three collaborators sharing equally. There is no even split of 100 into three percentages, so the closest set the inputs hold is 33.34, 33.33 and 33.33, totalling exactly 100.00. The exact shares are 333.4, 333.3 and 333.3 Robux. The floors are 333 each, which comes to 999 and leaves one Robux unassigned. The largest fraction belongs to the first member, 0.4 against 0.3, so that member takes the spare: 334, 333 and 333, adding to exactly 1,000 with nothing left behind.
Set all three to 33.33 instead and the total is 99.99%: 999 Robux is distributed and one stays in the group's balance. A hundredth of a percent is the difference between a pool that empties and one that does not, which is what the Split evenly button is for.
The dollar difference the spare Robux makes is not worth arguing about: at the standard DevEx rate 334 Robux is worth $1.2692 and 333 Robux is worth $1.2654, and both print as $1.27. The whole 1,000 comes to $3.80. Scale the pool and the shares stop being pocket change. 50,000 Robux at 60 / 40 pays 30,000 and 20,000, worth $114.00 and $76.00, and the larger share alone clears the 30,000 Earned Robux that DevEx requires before it will cash anything out. 120,000 at 50 / 30 / 20 pays 60,000, 36,000 and 24,000, worth $228.00, $136.80 and $91.20, and the third member is 6,000 Robux short of that minimum, holding Robux they can spend rather than dollars they can withdraw.
Even splits of 1,000 Robux
Every row divides the same 1,000 Robux the documented example uses, and the shares come from the script that runs the calculator above, so the table and the tool cannot disagree.
| Members | Exact share each | Whole-Robux shares | Members paid a spare Robux | DevEx value of the largest share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2 | 500 | 500 × 2 | 0 | $1.90 |
| 3 | 333.3333… | 334 + 333 × 2 | 1 | $1.27 |
| 4 | 250 | 250 × 4 | 0 | $0.95 |
| 5 | 200 | 200 × 5 | 0 | $0.76 |
| 6 | 166.6666… | 167 × 4 + 166 × 2 | 4 | $0.63 |
| 7 | 142.8571… | 143 × 6 + 142 | 6 | $0.54 |
| 8 | 125 | 125 × 8 | 0 | $0.48 |
| 9 | 111.1111… | 112 + 111 × 8 | 1 | $0.43 |
| 10 | 100 | 100 × 10 | 0 | $0.38 |
| 11 | 90.9090… | 91 × 10 + 90 | 10 | $0.35 |
| 12 | 83.3333… | 84 × 4 + 83 × 8 | 4 | $0.32 |
Five of the eleven sizes divide 1,000 cleanly: 2, 4, 5, 8 and 10 members. Eleven is the ugliest row, ten people on 91 Robux and one on 90. No size is off by more than a single Robux per member, which is the point of the rule.
Who can send a payout, and who can receive one
Sending is a permission, not a rank. The creator docs put a Payouts page under Finances for the group owner and for anyone holding the right permission within Group Revenue: viewing the balance is one permission, sending payouts is a stronger one, and granting that stronger one requires two-step verification. The help centre calls the same control a Spend Community Funds permission the owner assigns to a role.
Receiving is narrower than people expect. Payouts go to members, and Roblox runs eligibility checks without publishing what those checks test. The docs warn that some groups will not have the Payouts page unlocked at first, naming the age of the group and insufficient funds, and the help centre adds that Roblox verifies funds periodically against fraud, during which payouts may be unavailable. One exception is documented: for games charging paid access in local currency, payouts cannot be shared across members at all, and only the group owner can receive them.
What Roblox does not publish
A sweep on September 18, 2026 of every relevant creator doc, plus a full-text search of the English help centre's article index for anything mentioning a payout, turned up no minimum payout amount, no limit on how often a group can pay, no waiting period before a new member becomes payout-eligible, and no hold on the payout itself. The fourteen-day membership wait that gets quoted everywhere, and the shorter window some verified groups once had, appear only in posts by other creators on the developer forum. That is one unofficial source, not two, so none of it is stated here as a rule; an earlier version of this page did state it, and should not have. What Roblox does document is that the checks exist, and the payout screen is the only authority on why a member fails one.
When a payout becomes real money
Group payouts count towards Earned Robux, the balance DevEx draws on, provided the group's funds came from genuine sales. The creator docs and the help centre say this in almost identical words, and both warn that funds earned against the Terms of Use or Community Standards do not count. The program also wants 30,000 Earned Robux, an age of at least 13, a verified email address, a tax form on file and a portal account.
The rate is $0.0038 per Earned Robux for anything earned since 10am Pacific on September 5, 2025, which is where $114.00 for 30,000 Robux comes from. Robux earned before that moment cash out at $0.0035 and must clear first, and one-time payouts from groups are named in that ordering rule. A higher $0.0054 rate, effective June 8, 2026, applies only to eligible spending by United States players verified as 18 or older. The DevEx cashout calculator covers what survives tax; the Robux to USD converter covers what those Robux cost the buyer.
Limitations
- The rounding rule is ours. Roblox does not publish one; largest remainder is stated here so the arithmetic is checkable, not because Roblox confirmed it.
- One round at a time. A per-game split and a group-wide split are two passes; run the leftover through again for the second.
- Private servers. The creator docs warn that a private server subscription keeps the split percentages in force at the moment it was bought, for as long as it runs.
- Not a fee calculator. The 30% belongs to the sale that filled the balance; the gamepass and dev product calculator handles that side.
FAQ
Does Roblox take 30% of a group payout?
No. The 30% marketplace fee is charged at the sale, before the Robux reaches group funds. Roblox's own groups documentation, read September 18, 2026, works a split in which a game earning 1,000 Robux pays out 400, 300, 100, 40, 40 and 20 and leaves 100 in the group balance, accounting for the full 1,000 with nothing deducted. Paying a member 1,000 Robux out of group funds costs the group exactly 1,000.
Why do the shares not divide evenly?
Because Robux are whole and most percentages of a pool are not. Splitting 1,000 Robux three ways gives exact shares of 333.4, 333.3 and 333.3, whose floors add up to 999. This page hands the spare Robux to the largest fraction, so the split becomes 334, 333 and 333 and totals exactly 1,000. Roblox does not document how its own payout screen resolves that fraction.
What is the minimum group payout?
Roblox does not publish one. A search on September 18, 2026 of the creator documentation and of every help centre article mentioning a payout found no minimum amount and no limit on how often a group can pay. The tool will split a single Robux, in which case one member gets it and the rest get nothing.
Can a group pay a member who just joined?
Roblox documents that eligibility checks run on the members being paid, and that some groups do not have the Payouts page unlocked at first because of the group's age or its funds, but it publishes no waiting period. The fourteen-day figure people quote comes from developer forum posts by other creators, not from Roblox, so this page does not state it as a rule.
Do group payouts count towards DevEx?
Yes, if the group's funds came from genuine sales. Both the creator documentation and the help centre say group payouts count as Earned Robux on that condition, and both warn that funds earned against the Terms of Use or Community Standards do not. DevEx needs 30,000 Earned Robux, which cash out at $114.00 at the standard $0.0038 rate.
Related tools
Corrected September 18, 2026: what changed.